Results and Jury Report: 15th IAHH International Sudent Design Competition 2017

The Jury first noted the small number of entries; in spite of the importance and significance of the problem posed by the competition brief, and the substantial prize money being offered.

Of the Schemes as the competition entries, the jury noted the variety of approaches even in the small sample.

From pre-fabrication as a solution for affordability, to geometrical ingenuity for spatial organisation, to working from the existing matrix of roads and open spaces and improving dwelling design.

The Scheme which improved the existing facilities matrix and went beyond the problem of density and affordability, to focus on dwelling as a home in society, was accepted by the jury unanimously as the best entry. The Scheme was distinguished by clear presentation and inspired thinking. By placing the inhabitants at the centre of incremental housing process, the scheme becomes implementable and economically viable.

The entries were ranked in the ascending order of merit as follows:

4. 6191254

3. PAN2178

2. 9920857


The Jury appreciated the efforts of the entrants, and expressed hope for more active participation in the future.

Prof. M. N. Ashish Ganju (Chairman), New Delhi, India

Dr. Martina Spies, Vienna, Austria

Ar. Nitin Killawala, Mumbai, India

Ar. Biju Kuriakose, Chennai, India

31st January 2017

Prof. Anil Nagrath, Secretary General, IAHH annouced the results of the competition at the concluding session of the 19th ICHH 2017 hosted by Rizvi College of Architecture, Mumbai, India.

The followings are the winners:

First Prize: Entry No: 9930586 Mihir Desai, Lekha Sawant, Chinmay Shidhore, Kamala Raheja Vidyanidhi Institute of Architecture, Mumbai

Second Prize: Entry No. 9920857 Pranav Thole & Pramada Jagtap,
Kamala Raheja Vidyanidhi Institute of Architecture, Mumbai

Third Prize: Entry No. PAN2178 Ankit R. Gaidhani, Palak Aggarwal & Sohail Plasterwala, Rizvi College of Architecture, Mumbai

Honourable Mention: Entry No. 6191254. Sohail Shaikh, Arsh Khatri, Burhan Patel, Yunus Kasu & Anas Ishke, Rizvi College of Architecture, Mumbai.

Prof. Akhtar Chauhan,
Convener ICHH & ISDC 2017
Founder President, IAHH

Mumbai, 3rd February 201